If I were a punctuation mark


“When you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect” in the words of Mark Twain. This pause which makes me a better person every day is what makes me want to be a comma, a comma that defines my life. In the busy life of an average student which is occupied by books, movies, parties, hangovers, sleep, love, breakups and many more complications and intricacies, a pause to let things sink in is very much needed. Only if I were a comma, I never would have had the need to consciously wait and tell myself that I had to pause once in a while.

I want to be the comma that lets my heart think where I really I am when my mind is caught up calculating the pros and cons of everything that enters my life. I want to be the comma that makes me wait with patience when things go out of control. I want to be the comma which makes me pause and enjoy the moment when everyone else is caught up in clicking pictures. I want to be the comma which tells me to wait and look around, and appreciate how much better my life is compared to many others’, when I feel low. I want to be the comma which brings in a much needed break after a hectic week. I want to be the comma which puts a break to my complaints. I want to be the comma which asks me to wait and think before I say something. I want to be the comma which makes me pause and relive the memories of the past. I want to be the comma which tells me to take a little break every day and workout. I want to be the comma which adds meaning to a midnight walk with a loved one even the day before an end term exam. I want to be the comma which brings a pause to every day with a night. I want to be the comma which brings a pause to the happy days with sorrow, just to let me know the value of happiness. I want to be the comma which pauses every week with a weekend. I want to be the comma that makes me wait before I make a decision.

I want to be the comma which changes the meaning of a sentence if its position is changed. And I want to be the comma, which adds meaning to a sentence, just like it adds meaning to my life. 

Leave a comment

